Reflecting….

I’ve started an online course on Creativity for Learning in HE, run by the Centre for Learning and Teaching at MMU, which is pushing me to think about how I’m having ‘fun’ within my Information Literacy sessions (I think I am but need to do more evaluation as the students might be bored stuff but too polite to say anything!). As part of this course I’m reading James and Brookfield’s Engaging imagination: helping students become creative and reflective thinkers from 2014 (reference at the bottom) and came across the following really good list of examples of what makes something ‘reflective’ thinking. As I’m now starting to look at the reflective write up of the last year I found this quite useful in making me think of the different ways my thinking has changed over the course of the year-especially my teaching but also in terms of how I relate to the wider profession, my own organisation, and how I promote myself and my work to the world. So I thought I would (heavily paraphrase) the 14 points here… the book is an ebook and this is from page 15

Reflective thinking happens when you…

  1.  check the assumptions that inform your actions
  2. open yourself to new and unfamiliar perspectives
  3. try to understand how another person reasons, understands context, or views knowledge
  4. make your intuitions and “gut” feelings the focus of study
  5. study the affects of your of your actions with a view to changing them
  6. look for blind spots/omissions in your thinking
  7. identify what is justified and grounded in your thinking
  8. accept and experiment with multiple learning methods
  9. value emotional dimensions of your learning as much as the purely cognitive
  10. try to upend habitual ways of understanding something
  11. connect the thinking you do in one context to thinking in another
  12. be aware of ways you judge something to be true
  13. apply reflective protocols in contextually appropriate ways
  14. alternate cognitive analysis with an acceptance of an unregulated flow of emotions
  • James, A. & Brookfield, S. 2014, Engaging imagination: helping students become creative and reflective thinkers,1st edn, Jossey-Bass, San Francisco.
Leave a Reply

